The Department of Life Sciences Communication recognizes 29 outstanding student scholars and their donors.

LSC undergraduate award recipients, alongside LSC’s academic advising manager Lynn Bartholomew.
Top Row, left to right: Beatrice Lazarski, Britta Wellenstein, Peyton Mueller, Nathan Buckley, Jaden Gosse, Quinn Ruzicka, Annika Nesterick, Ava Jeffery, Chloe Hansen
Bottom row, left to right: Madelyn Anderson, Laila Smith, Chandler Wells, Kelly Herness, Katie Cervenka, Emma Gorder, Emily Ledin, Lynn Bartholomew.

The Pyle Center was buzzing with excitement this past Thursday, April 25, 2024, as proud parents and donors watched exceptional Life Sciences Communication (LSC) students receive scholarship awards for the next academic year. Held annually, the LSC scholarship and donor recognition reception highlights the department’s exemplary students, generous donors and departmental accomplishments from the 2023-2024 academic year.

This year, LSC affiliates, partners, and donors awarded 29 students with scholarships – all of which will increase student success and help them achieve their goals. These scholarships were created by alumni, previous faculty, and other friends of LSC and support students in a multitude of areas in science communication research and practice.

“For decades, LSC’s graduate students have moved on to leadership positions in policy, industry, and academia,” said Dietram Scheufele, LSC professor and Director of Graduate Studies. “Seeing our current cohort of students getting a head start from our donors selfishly ‘paying it forward’ is both exciting and humbling.”

Students attending this event were given the opportunity to connect with their donors, as well as share their stories and gratitudes.

“Our annual scholarship reception is an excellent example of the close sense of community fostered in the department,” said Mike Xenos, LSC professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies. “While most departments have scholarships, LSC is truly unique in providing such a great opportunity for donors and the scholarship recipients to really connect with each other and the broader LSC community in such a meaningful way.”

LSC graduate scholarship recipients pictured alongside Dietram Scheufele, LSC’s Taylor-Bascom Chair and Director of Graduate Studies. Top row, left to right: Dietram Scheufele, Ji-seong Yang, Dayeon Eom, Alex Leat, Anqi Shao Bottom row, left to right: Isabel Villanueva, Ashley Cate, Martel DenHartog and Sara Ostad.

One of the key topics of the night was how a degree in LSC prepares students for success post graduation in expected and unexpected ways. This point was highlighted by the keynote speaker, Sarah Clifford Glapa, who graduated with her M.S. and M.P.H. in 2020. In her speech, Sarah detailed how LSC’s innovative curriculum, supportive faculty and cutting edge research helped her in her career as a health communicator during the COVID-19 pandemic. Sarah, who was once a recipient of the Jean W. Fewster Scholarship, also highlighted the importance of donor support for the department. Sarah is now the Associate Director of Marketing and Health Communication for UW-Madison’s University Health Services.

“I would like to thank LSC’s donors for their continued support of our program and students,” said Dominique Brossard, LSC professor and chair. “Thank you for your support of this department that has trained and guided so many to understand the importance of science in society.”

2024-2025 Scholarships and Awardees 

Robert Bjorklund Scholarship – Jaden Gosse, Annika Nesterick, Jenny Perez-Soto, Laila Smith, and Chandler Wells

Lloyd & Genevieve Bostian Scholarship – Madelyn Anderson and Chloe Hansen

Farm Journal/Andy Weber Ag Media Scholarship – Lauren Breunig and Ava Wildenborg

Jean W. Fewster Scholarship –  Martel DenHartog

Brian Howell Scholarship – Britta Wellenstein

William and Cynthia Kennedy Family Scholarship – Gillian Wolf

Lenore Landry Internship – Katie Cervenka

Frank Lessiter Ag Media Scholarship – Beatrice Lazarski

Nellie McCannon Scholarship – Ashley Cate, Emily Ledin and Peyton Mueller

Larry R. Meiller Scholarship – Ava Jeffrey

NAMA Marketing Leader Scholarship & NAMA President Scholarship – Gracelyn Krahn

John E. and Elizabeth B. Ross Science Writing Scholarship – Nathan Buckley, Emma Gorder and Isabel Villanueva

Thomas P. and Gail G. Schomisch Scholarship – Quinn Ruzicka

Jean A. Shipman Scholarship – Dayeon Eom, Alex Leat and Anqi Shao

Claire H. Sink Scholarship – Ji-seong Yang

W. Watt Agricultural Journalism Memorial Scholarship – Kelly Herness

Maurice E. and Grace Witter White Scholarship – Sara Ostad

Written by: Julia Wiessing, M.S. ’25
Published: May 2024